Morning Routine.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been living back at home in Yorkshire to be able to study for my final exams within the comfort of my own home and not having to worry about working every god sent hour to be able to afford living in London. And although I have been at home, I’ve tried to keep myself in a routine that would maximise the time that I had to study during the day. This is the routine that I’ve got myself into throughout study leave and one I’m going to keep until I eventually find myself a graduate job..


Wake up!

In London, I was used to waking up at around 7am – whether this was down to having early morning lectures or having a long day shift at work. However, when I moved home, I decided to give myself a break and allowed myself to sleep in until around 9.30am. It was heaven. But as soon as I wake up, I’d always check my phone like all the other millennials. I only really reply to messages from my parents the minute I wake up as otherwise they’ll be screaming at me all day for not replying to them – even though they hardly reply to me. Double standards.

IMG_0503

Anyway, once I’d eventually come round, I’d wash my face and brush my teeth. There is literally nothing worse than the feel of your teeth and skin after a night’s sleep. My favourite face scrub to use at the moment is a simple ‘Tea Tree Daily Use Cleansing Facial Scrub’. I got this from good old Home Bargains for about 99p I think. Usually I’d be so reluctant to use something so ‘reasonably priced’ (as my parents say) on my skin due to past horror experiences with using cheap and nasty products on my skin, but my flatmate used this a few months ago and I tried it and loved how gentle it was on my skin. I purchased it and haven’t looked back since.

I’d then finish off my basic face routine with my Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic by placing a few drops on a cotton pad and running it all over my freshly cleaned face. I find using this just adds some brightness to my face and makes my skin feel so much more ready for the day.

IMG_0499

I then head downstairs to pop the kettle on and make myself a nice cup of tea.


Chill.

I’d then head back up to bed, armed with my cup of tea and any post that had come for me.

IMG_0492

(NB: I know that that tea pretty much looks disgustingly weak. I promise my tea-making game is on point – the flash just made it look like warm milk.)

After opening up any post, which was usually just my bank telling me how much money my unemployed ass didn’t have, I’d chill out for a bit longer in bed to make sure I was raring to go for a day of studying. Since I’m not a fan of morning television (yeah, I’m looking at you Eamonn Holmes and Jeremy Kyle), I’d just put on some old episodes of either ‘Friends’, ‘How I Met Your Mother’ or ‘2 Broke Girls’ and catch up on social media, using Twitter like a newspaper to find out the latest goings on in the world.


Get Ready.

I’d spend about half an hour chilling in bed – two episodes at the most – and then I’d tear myself out of bed to get ready for the day ahead. Throughout study leave, I rarely left the house – or if I did, it’d just be into the town centre or walking around the outskirts of the town to get some fresh air – so I didn’t see the point in wearing makeup. However, I would still do a skin routine as if I was going to apply makeup so that my skin felt cleansed and refreshed.

One thing I do love about my bedroom is that my dressing table is right by the window, meaning I get my Vitamin D intake without even leaving the house. Sitting with the sun on me also helps wake me up and feel that little bit more alive than I did before.

IMG_0493

The first thing I do with my everyday skin routine is carefully blend some Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment around my eyes to get rid of any dark circles I have and replenish any moisture lost in the surrounding skin. Then I use my holy grail moisturiser – Clinique’s Moisture Surge – all over my face and neck to make my skin gain a bit of life and look a little less dead. Then I just finish off my simplistic skin routine with using a lip scrub to exfoliate my lips and then applying a light layer of lip balm over them. I always exfoliate before applying lip balm as I find the scrub gets rid of any dead skin, making them feel fresh, smooth and more plump and the lip balm soaks in better after exfoliation. My favourite lip scrub and lip balm combination at the moment is Lush’s Popcorn lip scrub and the original Carmex lip pot.

IMG_0494

Then I get dressed. My usual studying attire is a baggy jumper, jeans and fluffy socks. That way, I’m not too cold and not too hot and it’s comfortable enough to sit for a few hours as it lets me breathe and isn’t too restrictive.


Breakfast.

Just before hibernating in my office to study for the last remaining hour of the morning, I’ll pop back downstairs and make some breakfast. My favourite breakfast to have when studying is granola with natural yoghurt and fresh fruit. It’s so easy to make, really delicious and pretty healthy too. Once this is made, I head to the top floor in my house where my office is located to enjoy breakfast at my desk as I prepare what I’m doing for the rest of the day.

IMG_0326


And this is my generic morning routine for study leave..

If you do a post like this, please post a link in the comments below. I’m definitely a daily routine kinda gal!

4 thoughts on “Morning Routine.

Leave a Reply

