Superdrug Haul.

In my London post, I mentioned nipping into Superdrug to get a few bits and bobs. And well, those ‘bits and bobs’ turned into a £40 shopping spree so I thought hey ho, might as well do a drugstore haul!

For those of you who haven’t been blessed with UK drugstores, we have two main ones – Boots and Superdrug. Up until this year, I’ve always preferred Boots due to their selection of products, range of brands and their loyalty points scheme works out to be more generous than Superdrug. However, only recently have I discovered Makeup Revolution which is only for sale in Superdrug and since falling in love with their products, I’ve found myself to be a Superdrug convert.

So without any further ado, let’s begin my haul!

FullSizeRender 11.jpg


I Heart MakeUp

FullSizeRender 6

I can’t remember where I saw these featured – probably one of the million beauty Instagrams I stalk on a daily basis – but I knew the second I saw them that I had to have them.

To me, they are like a dupe for Too Faced’s ‘Sweetheart’ collection and for £4.99 each, I’d say they are the perfect budget alternative.

Since my local Superdrug doesn’t have an ‘I Heart Makeup’ counter, I thought I might as well take up the opportunity to buy a bronzer, blusher and a highlighter – it would have been rude not to. 

FullSizeRender 9

Starting with the blusher or ‘Blushing Hearts’ in the shade ‘Blushing Heart’.. Inside the cute love heart packaging (see what I’m on about with being a Too Faced dupe?) is a trio of triple baked blush colours. I opted for the more pinky tones as I love a good pink blusher, especially now it’s nearing summer. I know a few people opt to use the different shades separately but I’m definitely not a messing about person and I just shove my brush in there and get all the shades in one go. I especially loved how iridescent the blusher is. I would highly recommend getting this if you haven’t already got it. Considering how cheap it is, it has an amazing pigmentation and lasts all throughout the day.

FullSizeRender 3

Although I raved about my Makeup Revolution highlighter in my Spring Favourites post, I thought I might as well try out I Heart Makeup’s ‘Goddess of Love’ highlighter () to see if it was just as good.

Oh my God. I’ve just realised I picked up the ‘Goddess of Faith’ box but it had the ‘Goddess of Love’ product inside of it.. Well, that’s put me in a pickle..

So ignoring that kerfuffle, I got mine in the ‘Goddess of Love’ shade. Like the blusher, this is triple baked and gives off such an iridescent glow when it’s on. In my opinion, the pigmentation isn’t as impressive as Makeup Revolution’s highlighter but I’m still impressed, considering how cheap it was (and how cute the packaging is.. even if it was in the wrong box). This is definitely going to be my go-to highlighter when I don’t want a really obvious highlight and just a natural dewy finish on those summer nights abroad.

FullSizeRender 2

The final product of the ‘Sweetheart’ dupe collection is the triple baked bronzer, which I got in ‘Summer of Love’. Usually I always grab a matte bronzer (as you will see later on) to use for contouring, but I decided to try this to give my face a bit of a different look with it having quite a shimmery finish. The pigmentation isn’t that great, but for the last few weeks, I’ve been using this as a top finish over my Anastasia Beverly Hills contour powder for a natural glow. If you’re not one for contouring with definition, this is probably perfect for you as it leaves you with a shimmery gold finish rather than a matte brown finish.


Makeup Revolution

You’d think I earn commission for Makeup Revolution sales with the amount I recommend them, but I don’t. It’s beyond belief how good their products are for the price tag. I don’t think any of their makeup products go over £5, with the exception of their makeup brushes. So I went to town when I realised the Superdrug store on The Strand in London had a huge Makeup Revolution counter.

FullSizeRender 12

Although I’m pretty content with my brow routine as it is, using Anastasia Beverly Hills’ Brow Pomade and Benefit’s Brow Zings, I thought I’d give Makeup Revolution Brow Dual Arch and Shape pencil for £3.50. I just plonked this in my basket and it wasn’t until I got home and unpackaged them all that I realised how magical this ‘pencil’ actually was.

On one side you have a felt-tip nib and on the other is a retractable kohl pencil. Holy banana is it amazing! For starters, the kohl pencil is super pigmented and literally glides onto your eyebrow with so much ease and then the felt-tip end is just as easy to use but doesn’t have as much definition – something I find perfect for the inner corners where I want a more natural brow.

FullSizeRender 7

My holy grail pressed powder is MAC’s Mineralise Skinfinish, but £24.00 a pop can get a bit too much so I decided to try Makeup Revolution’s Pressed Powder as £2.00 seemed more reasonable than £24.00.

I absolutely love the packaging for this. The powder itself slides out of the case and comes with an application sponge in a little pocket beneath the powder and on the reverse is a nice sized mirror. It is perfect to fit into my handbag and take everywhere with me for those much-needed touch ups throughout the day.

As for the product itself, it isn’t as good as MAC’s, but it is a good, cheap, everyday alternative.

FullSizeRender 10

With the summer months here, I’ve found myself having to deal with oily skin. This is something that I’ve never really had to deal with as my skin is usually pretty good – not too dry, not too oily. But then, BAM! 2016 arrived and my skin type went out the window. So when I came across this in Superdrug, I had to have it and boy am I glad I spotted it. The Pro Fix Oil Control Fixing Spray is probably the best £5.00 I have spent in a long while. It’s pretty easy to use – you just spray it over your make up once you’ve finished the same way you’d spray hair spray onto your finished hair style – and it seems to stay for hours and definitely keeps the oil as bay.

I just wish they did a smaller one so I could keep one in my handbag as I always seem to forget to put it on before leaving the house and then have to keep topping up with pressed powder ever so often.


Make Up Academy

FullSizeRender 8

Although I got a new brow pencil from Makeup Revolution, I thought I’d give this MUA Eyebrow Pencil in brunette a try purely for the brush at the other end of it.

Most brow pencils that I’ve see come with a spoolie (what a fun word to say), but this one has a bristled brush at the end – something I’ve never seen on a brow pencil before. Watch everyone comment saying they’re more common than spoolies.. but I’ve personally never seen one like this before. So I put it in my basket as it was only £1. The pencil itself isn’t that great. I find the pencil is a bit too soft and breaks off so easily when you apply it, leaving awful clumps in your brow, but the brush end is brilliant!

FullSizeRender 4

Have a close up on the brush because it’s fab. It’s like a little toothbrush.. but for your eyebrows!

FullSizeRender

As I mentioned above, when it comes to bronzer, I am definitely a matte finish kinda gal. I’ve got all the contour kits you can possibly imagine but there is one thing I haven’t got – an all over the face bronzer. Some of you will probably be reading this thinking ‘why do you need one of those?’ but trust me, I do. With bronzers specifically for contouring, I find they can be super pigmented and you can’t use them all over your face without ending up looking like an Oompa Loompa so I decided to invest £4.00 into getting the Bronzed Perfection Matte Sunset Tan bronzer.

It’s a huge bronzer, meaning it’s perfect for getting my big powder brush all over it and it’s not really pigmented but it’s pigmented enough to leave you with a gorgeous sun kissed look once it’s applied.


Sinful Colors

FullSizeRender 5

Just as I was about to leave, I spotted these two nail varnishes that screamed my name at me. I’m not a Kylie Jenner fan at all so the fact they were her colours didn’t appeal to me in the slightest but I loved the fact they are matte. If there are two characteristics I love about nail varnishes it’s matte and pastel colours.

The left colour is Kurtsey – a gorgeous blue come lilac shade and the right colour is Silhouette – an equally as beautiful lilac purple shade. Both of these were £3.00 each. I’m yet to try them out but I’m sure they’ll be amazing if they are indeed a matte finish.


And that is everything that I bought in Superdrug. I probably could have bought a ton more but I decided to restrain myself and only buy things that I know I was going to use/love.

Let me know in the comment section if there are any products you’ve tried from this haul or recommend any purchases from Superdrug for me to try out as I always love getting suggestions!

4 thoughts on “Superdrug Haul.

  1. roseannebyford says:

    I love the look of the heart blusher! Pinky tones are my favourite 🙂 I saw revolutions make up spray yesterday but wasn’t sure whether to buy it, sounds good though so I think this will be next on my list of must haves!! Great blog xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

