Blog vs Vlog.

It seems like everyone who blogs, vlogs and everyone who vlogs, blogs. Yet here I am, the exception with only a blog and no vlog. (I’ve said -log words too much that it’s starting to look funny as I type it..) And I thought it was about time that I sat and explained why I don’t vlog and probably never will.

To me, the -logging world is so entertaining. I can easily spend five or six hours in a row just going through YouTube and WordPress, watching and reading some of my favourite -loggers posts. I guess that’s what happens when blogs and vlogs take over the 21st century. I’ve always been wanting to start a blog, and now I have one, I wouldn’t change it for the world. It’s fun to have something lighthearted to focus on that I have full control over and can post about everything and anything that I want. In a way, it’s my little escape (not that I have much I want to escape from) where I can just write and reflect on life. It may seem like sometimes I post really random topics like How To: Clean Make-Up Brushes or trivial hauls but it’s fun. I like how creative I can be.

In the ideal world, I’d probably vlog too. I grew up pretending to host my own MTV Cribs episodes with my friends, taking it in turns to be the host. Every time the video camera came out at special occasions, I’d be first to be in the centre of the spotlight and steal all attention. I was a pretty confident kid. But once I hit high school age, it all changed and I lost all confidence and self-esteem. (Don’t worry, I won’t go all dark. This is supposed to be a lighthearted post). So for me, now, me vlogging seems pointless. I’d probably spend more time criticising the way I look, the way I talk or what I say rather than uploading, editing and enjoying it.

Blogging, on the other hand, is just my niche. I’ve never been one for being able to say what I think straight away without it making sense – I always have to think about it and tweak things before I say something, especially to an audience. Blogging lets me draft and edit things, re-reading it as many times as I want until I think it’s alright. And it’s easier for me to fit into my daily life. I can write whenever I want, looking like whatever I want.

Yet who knows? One day I may take a leap off the cliff into the YouTube world and start a vlog. But right now, I’m not at a point where I would be able to enjoy vlogging as much as I love blogging.

What do you guys think? Do you have vlogs? Link them below if you do. I need to add some new channels to my subscribe list on YouTube! But do you prefer blogging or vlogging? I’d love to know what you think!

Leave a Reply

