21 Things I’ve Learnt Being 21.

So today is my 22nd birthday.. Yes, that’s right. Taylor Swift age.

giphy

And while I did wake up singing the notorious theme tune for the ‘two little duckies’ age, I’ve been thinking all day of the last year and all the things I’ve learnt being 21 so whilst I celebrate my 22nd birthday, enjoy reading 21 things I’ve learnt being 21.


  1. Plans very rarely actually happen. You can put your heart and soul into making plans perfect but they never actually come off at all, let alone the way you planned. Being spontaneous is the way I’m going to live my life as a 22 year old. And yes, I did just make a plan to be spontaneous..
  2. With friends, it doesn’t matter about numbers. When I was 16/17, I was all for being ‘popular’ with a million and one friends, knowing everyone and being known by everyone but now? I’d much rather just have a handful of insanely good friends. I’ve got to that age where I can count my true friends on one hand. I might not speak to them constantly like I did was I was 16/17 but I know for a fact that if I needed them, they would be right there for me.
  3. Nights out aren’t always that great. It’s very rare that I actually say ‘I wanna go clubbing’ these days. It is so much more fun to stay in with a bottle of wine and some good movies, especially the next morning when you wake up as fresh as a daisy and actually see lunchtime instead of waking up at gone 4pm with a banging headache and a brain full of regret and hazy memories.
  4. Weekends aren’t long enough. 21 has been a weird age for me as it’s the first age¬†I’ve worked constantly. I’ve had part time jobs before but in my last few months of uni, I was working every spare hour I had just to be able to afford rent and then as soon as I finished uni, I managed to get a graduate job so this year is work, work, work so I have definitely learnt to hate Monday mornings, love Friday afternoons and want the weekends to last longer.
  5. Put yourself first. I don’t mean in like a selfish way. I mean in like a ‘if you put me as a second option, I’ll do the same to you’ sorta way. If they don’t prioritise you, you’ll just have to make yourself your own priority and f*** them.
  6. It is impossible to have complete control over your life all the time. Sometimes life just gets in the way and the only thing you can do is let it happen. It isn’t your fault – it’s just one of those things.
  7. Shower your friends and family with affection. I’m not on about saying ‘I love you’ every time they enter the room but just acknowledge the fact they mean the world to you by appreciating them more, even if it is just by spending more time with them or sending them a text message ever so often to ask how they are or what they’re up to.
  8. Christmas.. birthdays.. celebrations.. they aren’t about the presents anymore. When you’re younger, you have to admit that all celebrations like these are just about the presents (or majority of it is about presents anyway) and you can’t deny it. But as I’ve got older, I’ve realised it’s about spending time with the family and seeing people you haven’t seen in ages. My family are quite spread out, which isn’t surprising considering how many there are of us, but it means Christmas is the only time we really get to see one another and catch up and I would take that every day over being showered with gifts.
  9. Time is precious and life is too short to waste it. You always see these stories of people dying when they have so much regret over what they did in life – not being with the person they love, not going for the job they wanted to go for, not travelling enough.. and I really don’t want to have any regrets at all. (Morbid but hey ho). So I’ve realised that I need to stop saying ‘no’ to things and starting saying ‘yes’ instead to opportunities that come up for me. #NoRagrats
  10. It’s good to look back. I’m not just on about short term. I mean long term too. Look back on where you were five, even ten, years ago and see how much your life has changed. Ten years ago I would have been starting high school and now I’m planning to go to Bar School so my life has changed dramatically but I don’t think I have. I’m still the same person I was back then, only a little older with confidence. But it’s good to see the crap I’ve gone through and the obstacles I’ve had to get over to be where I am today. It’s made me grateful.
  11. Duvet days are so unproductive and a waste of time but sometimes you do need them in order to be productive all other times. When I was 20, I’d be constantly having duvet days. Every weekend in my old house seemed to be spent with my friends on the sofa in our pyjamas watching crap on tv, and they were great. But now I actually have a reason to get up at 6am every morning, whenever I do have a duvet day on the weekend (which is very, very rare), I just go back to work on the Saturday thinking ‘what a waste of a weekend’. But I know that I must have needed it when I sit down at my desk and finish 10 cases by lunchtime as it’s recharged my batteries. So sometimes you need to waste time in order to make time, d’ya get me?
  12. Most people are temporary. Three years ago, when I first started uni, I had about 25 friends on campus (which isn’t a lot but they were really good friends) and now I’ve left, I only speak to three of those friends.. I’ve realised this year especially that promises some people make are just words and you can go from going absolutely everywhere with someone, ¬†spending every waking moment with them to being absolute strangers in the street. Most people are just temporary fittings in our life and come and go when they please. It’s just the odd few who become fixtures.
  13. Doing a good deed a day makes you feel better. It doesn’t have to be major – just something as little as opening the door for someone or giving a stranger a smile when they look sad. I’m that weirdo that always smiles at someone if we have eye contact but it does make me feel so much better about my day. It just adds positivity into your day and the other person’s day so it can’t be all bad.
  14. Memories over possessions. Don’t get me wrong, I love the latest gadgets or the newest make up fads as much as the next person but I’ve come to realise that it’s so much better to spend money on things that will stay with me for life, not just until the next upgrade.
  15. If someone is talking about you behind your back, give them something to talk about.
  16. Dance as if nobody is watching and sing as if nobody is listening. In other words, don’t take notice of what anyone else thinks – just do you.
  17. You’re never too old to do something. Don’t let your age put you off trying to better yourself or trying something for the first time.
  18. Make every day count. Life does get to that stage where you think ‘is this it?’ but make the most of each and every day for what it is as you never know when your last one may end. (Apologies for sounding morbid)
  19. Do what makes you happy. You wanna spend an entire weekend rolled up in a duvet burrito but all your friends wanna go on a two night bender to the clubs? Do what you want.
  20. Work hard, play hard. It’s okay to work your ass off so long as you reward yourself afterwards.
  21. Crying is good for you. It does help make you feel better. Sometimes we all need to just let it out. The world would be such a better place if everyone spent at least one day a month crying into a tub of Ben and Jerry’s while watching The Notebook, Titanic or Finding Dory.
One thought on “21 Things I’ve Learnt Being 21.

Leave a Reply

