Blogmas: The ‘Christmas Music’ Tag.

It’s funny when you think about it. The same Christmas songs come on the radio every. single. year yet I never ever get bored of hearing them. The chimes from the introduction to ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’, the shoulder-jiving rhythm from the start of ‘Last Christmas’, the head bopping jam from the beginning of ‘Merry Xmas Everybody’.. I hear them more than I hear any other song each year, condensed into one/two months of the year yet every year I look forward to hearing them on the radio. Why is Christmas music so good?!

I’ve been searching high and dry for a ‘Christmas Music’ tag on the tinterweb but could not find one anywhere. I have never been so ashamed of the bloggerverse. I couldn’t believe there wasn’t any at all so I thought I’d start off one to get the ball rolling. I even created an Apple Music playlist of my favourite Christmas tunes to get me in the mood for a ‘Christmas Music’ tag which can be found here.


1. What was the first Christmas song you heard this year and where were you?

This year I was a little naughty. I started playing Christmas songs late October.. Every time I have a shower I have a different playlist on and Apple Music recommended a Christmas one so I whacked it on and the first Christmas song I heard in 2016 was Chris Rea’s Driving Home for Christmas. It was a very festive shower indeed.


2. What is your favourite ‘classic’ Christmas song?

I fricking love Bing Crosby’s White Christmas. It’s one of those songs you hear and can’t help but try to imitate his voice. A bit like Louis Armstrong. Or is that just me?


3. What is your favourite ‘recent’ Christmas song?

My favourite recent Christmas original has to be Ariana Grande’s Santa Tell Me. She’s got such a great voice for Christmas songs – it reminds me of Christina Aguilera mixed with Mariah Carey (two Queens of Christmas tunes). I love the song too. But for covers of Christmas classics, I’m quite partial to Union J’s It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas. I loved their original line up and saw them when they covered the song at Regent Street’s light switch on a couple of years ago and it suited their voices so much. I love their take on it.


4. Which Christmas song do you think is underrated?

The Darkness’ Christmas Time. It’s such a bazaar song to say they were pretty much a rock band and then released that in 2004. I rarely hear it over Christmas and it’s a shame cos it’s a really good song. I am glad though as I think I wouldn’t like it as much if it was overplayed.


5. Which Christmas song do you think is overrated?

Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas Is You. Don’t get me wrong – I love the song insane amounts but it just seems like it’s played every single hour on the radio. Last year I worked as a barista in Costa Coffee in London and they started playing their Christmas songs first week on November (which I didn’t mind) but by the 16th/17th of December, this song was being played every single hour. It drove me insane. Every shop you go into in December seems to have it on. Every countdown to the ‘best’ Christmas song seems to have it in the top three. It’s a great song but there are definitely better songs out there.


6. Do you have a favourite Christmas album? If so, what is it?

Even though I am a recovered Belieber, I still go crazy for Justin Bieber’s Under the Mistletoe album. I love the fact that it contains original songs but then has covers of classics. My favourite song on the album has to be ‘All I Want Is You’. It’s such a cute song. ‘Mistletoe’ is gonna be a classic too – I can feel it.


7. Where do you listen to Christmas music the most?

Everywhere. On the commute to work I listen to them on my phone through my headphones (#ConsiderateCommuter). At home I’ll always have MTV playing Christmas countdowns. In the car I’ll be jamming to Elton John’s Step Into Christmas or Band Aid’s Do They Know It’s Christmas. I listen to them all the time. I’m so bad for Christmas music – well, Christmas in general.


8. Are there any Christmas songs you despise?

I don’t despise any entirely but I’m not too keen on Cliff Richards’ Saviour’s Day. Well, in fact, any Cliff Richard Christmas song. I don’t know why. I know they are classics but I think it’s because 99% of it is aimed at religion and although I know Christmas is a religious holiday, it isn’t the be all and end all for me so they aren’t my favourite Christmas songs.


9. What is your favourite Christmas music video?

This is gonna be a bit ‘what the hell’ but it’d have to be Steps’ Heartbeat. It’s not even a Christmas song. The only thing Christmassy about it is the music video. Watch it. I dare you: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oq7iQPbiq1Y. It’s hilarious. It’s so bad with the CGI but it just reminds me of my childhood. It’s up there with S Club Juniors’ Puppy Love with my primary school bae, Calvin, gushing over his crush on Rachel Stevens.


10. What is your favourite Christmas Carol?

My personal favourite is ‘Away In A Manger’. It’s so innocent and just reminds me of when I was in nursery.


What tunes make you feel all Christmassy? Do the tag and don’t forget to link it below!

2 thoughts on “Blogmas: The ‘Christmas Music’ Tag.

Leave a Reply

