Blogmas: Autumn Favourites.

Autumn is that weird season. I mean, spring you know it’s happening – cold, frosty mornings that lighten up into bright days that are getting longer with the odd shower ever so often. Summer, you blink and practically miss it but you still know when it’s beginning and ending because it’s scorchio and the days are so long. Winter means you gotta wrap up and all you want is snow but then that happens and you just miss summer. But autumn? Like, when does it even begin? Where does it end? The other seasons seem to be months and months but autumn seems like it’s the couple of days between Halloween and Bonfire Night. And because of this, I haven’t really had many favourites but here are a few things I have been loving this very confusing season!

image


Skincare

I have to make sure I keep my skin all looked after throughout the year, especially when it comes to changes in the season. I’ve got such a weird skin type – so much so, I can’t even describe it. But it’s pretty olive, which is a blessing when it comes to the speed I tan at but it’s also a curse with how much I have to look after it in the colder months so skincare is definitely a vital part of autumn life.

Clinique’s City Block

image

First things first is this charcoal bad boy from Clinique. Charcoal masks are easily my favourite face masks because the results are out of this world. My skin can get quite oily and I find that charcoal based masks take the right amount of oil away without making my skin dry and dehydrated. ‘City Block’ is such a mousy, creamy consistency as you apply it and also doubles up perfectly as a Halloween mask too as you resemble a Smurf when wearing it – bonus. But the best thing about it is that it leaves your skin insanely clean, and makes sure it stays that way too. I use this mask about once a week and can tell the difference between the day I’ve used it and the day before I use it. It’s a lifesaver.

Temple Spa’s Be Gone

image

Oh, what a surprise. Yet another product to feature in another favourites post comes from my holy grail skincare company – Temple Spa. I normally use their ‘Dual Act’ cleanser as it seriously is a miracle worker but I tried their ‘Be Gone’ recently at a spa party and thought I’d give it a go. I love them both so much. They keep the oil at bay, working side by side with City Block and makes my skin so fresh and revitalised. I think my love of Temple Spa products is beginning to become unhealthy but they are just that good!


Make Up

Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupte Shine in 44

image

For months, probably even years, I have been obsessed with matte lipsticks. I love the way they look and I love the finish they give to your made up face. I’ve been so used to matte lip looks that I never even considered a glossy look until my graduation. I went into Boots last minute after forgetting my trusty Velvet Teddy and ended up walking back out with this YSL gloss stick. It smells absolutely divine and I cannot get over how moisturising it is. It’s such a gorgeous lip colour to wear too. I think it’s replaced my love of matte lipsticks too this season.

Too Faced Bulletproof 24 Hour Shadow Liners

image

Autumn has seen me become extremely lazy with make up. On the days I do wear it for work, I spend a few minutes max on splodging some concealer on my blemishes, blending that in then applying a bit of eye shadow, whacking on some mascara and voila, done! So when I discovered these a couple of weeks ago, I thought I’d hit jackpot. You literally line your eyelids with them and use the sponge to blend it out. I got the colours ‘Purple Rain’ and ‘Get Lucky’ and they are such gorgeous shades. I’m amazed at how good they look, how long they last and how easy they are to apply.

image

(Top: Purple Rain, Bottom: Get Lucky) 


Homewares

Rose Gold Calendar 

image

You may be seeing this little prop feature in a lot of backgrounds to my photos I post with blog posts on here as it’s easily my favourite thing this autumn. It’s rose gold so it was an instant winner with me anyway but I’ve been on the look out for one of these for ages. When you’re at school or college or even university, you always know the date as you’re writing it at the top of your workbooks six lessons a day but after you leave education, you’re completely screwed so I thought this was my only option. And it works! I sometimes forget to change it every day but it does help me remember what day it is (or what day it was). It’s brilliant and looks pretty too!

Candy Floss Scented Candles

image

I love scented candles. When Yankee Candles were first a craze, I was all over the hype like a rash. I had so many of them – two in every room in my house back in London. I drove my housemates crazy with my scented candles. But I found that Yankee Candles lost their scent as soon as they are lit and that isn’t what you want in a £20 a time candle so I soon lost interest. Then when I discovered this hidden treasure in ‘Home Bargains’ for something ridiculous like £1.99, I thought I’d give it a go as it’s rose gold and pink – instant winner. As soon as I smelt it, I was blown away. It literally smells like candy floss. And it smells like it even when it’s lit. Whenever I have this on, the whole house smells like a fun fair and it’s such a gorgeous scent. Yankee who?


Entertainment

Jess Glynne’s I Cry When I Laugh

image

Although I’ve been listening to this album on Apple Music since it was released last year, I decided to buy the physical copy of it after seeing Jess Glynne a couple of weeks ago in concert. You know an album is good when you actually buy the CD of it these days. Every single song is a hit. Most albums these days are their hit singles and then lots of bottom of the barrel track fillers to push the album out so the artist can release another one as soon as that hits the charts but this is the total opposite. It’s got so many good songs on it. I’ve even bought a copy for my dad for Christmas as I know he’ll love it and he doesn’t like much ‘new’ music – shh.


What have you been loving this autumn?

Leave a Reply

