Blogmas: Christmas DIY.

This year, I’ve had to be prepared when it comes to Christmas. After last year, I vowed I’d never be so unorganised with the festivities again. So with Christmas preparations beginning at the start of November (I’ve had no choice with work), I thought I might as well make up for my shabbiness last year by putting extra effort in with presents and cards this year and make a lot of them myself. Plus, it’s also a great excuse for a Blogmas post!


Cookie Jar

You’ve probably seen these before.. Okay, you almost definitely have seen these before. They’ve taken over the baking world by storm and I thought they were such a cute gift for the inner bakers in everyone. They are also super easy to make – and super easy to bake too!

img_2444

I grabbed a simple Kilner-style jar from Wilkinsons for about £1.50 and filled it up with yummy ingredients for milk chocolate cookies by layering them one by one in the jar. I used a simple recipe I found online – one cup of flour, one cup of light soft brown sugar, half a cup of cocoa powder, a teaspoon of baking powder and 100g of milk chocolate chips. I then just finished it off with a little heart-shaped tag tied onto it with red and white checkered ribbon with the instructions on it! I definitely think this is gonna go down well with my brother’s girlfriend who is a budding Mary Berry in the making.


Scarf

Okay, this isn’t a last minute gift, nor was it easy so if that’s what you’re after, it’s probably best to skip this one.. But recently, I’ve got into knitting. It may sound really sad but it’s surprisingly relaxing. My mum and aunty have their own knitting business too so it was only a matter of time before I got roped (or yarned) into it too. Anyway, I decided it would be a good idea for a gift to knit my grandmother a scarf.

(Stupid me accidentally wrapped it all up before I actually managed to take a photo of it but yeah.. it’s just a scarf)

When I was about seven, my grandparents used to come stop with us over summer and she would constantly be trying to teach me to knit. She used to sit there for hours with me, casting me on and picking up stitches I dropped (which used to be once every ten minutes). In the end I gave up as it was easier for her to do it for me than for me to do it myself. So when my mum taught me again after I finished my exams this year, I thought it would be a nice surprise to knit my grandma something she could use, especially since the cold months are supposed to be here to stay with us for quite a while.

I finished it off with a heart-shaped tag (you can tell I got a pack, can’t you?) with just a little message on it to show I had actually slaved over it for weeks and weeks. I really hope my grandma likes it!


What DIY things have you been making this festive season?

Leave a Reply

